Who We Are

Who We Are

We at Chester County Natural Gas Authority are pleased to have you in our community and glad to have you as customers. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to a long and prosperous future. It is our hope we will not only become a part of your life, but also provide comfort and quality to your life. It is with this thought in mind that we strive to fulfill our mission of improving the welfare of the communities that we serve by providing quality natural gas service at competitive rates in a safe, environmentally clean and efficient manner.

The Authority is committed to accomplishing this Mission by:

  • Managing our Business with the Highest Standards of Integrity and Fairness.
  • Being an Innovative Leader in the Natural Gas Industry.
  • Providing a Well Trained and Customer Oriented Work Force.
  • Addressing the Needs of its Customers, Employees and Associates on a Timely Basis with Professionalism and Courtesy.

History of CCNGA

The Chester County Natural Gas Authority was created on April 23, 1954 under Act 806 of the Acts and Joint Resolution of the State of South Carolina of 1954 and commenced the distribution of natural gas in 1957. The service area for the Authority is defined as being Chester County, Lockhart School District in Union County, and the Mitford and Blackstock area in Fairfield County.

A five member Board of Directors governs the Authority. Members of the Board are appointed by the Governor of South Carolina: Two upon recommendation of the legislative delegation in the county, two upon recommendation from the City of Chester and one upon recommendation from the Town of Great Falls. Each director serves for a term of six years and can be reappointed. The Board of Directors is not active in the day-to-day management of the Gas Authority.